City of Edna Bay - Special Meeting

1 — Meeting Date, Place and Call to order:

This Special meeting was held on Friday, October 8th, 2021 via Cisco WebEx teleconference. Mayor Poelstra called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.

2 — Roll Call:

Tyler Poelstra - Mayor / City Council (Present) Karen Williams - Vice Mayor / City Council (Present) - Clerk + Treasurer / City Council Mvla Poelstra (Present) - City Council Mike Williams (Present) - City Council Sandy Henson (Absent) - City Council Paul Haaq (Present) Doris Greif - City Council (Absent)

2.1 — Public Participants:

Sharon Wargi Joe Wargi Katie Buss

3 — Consent Agenda:

A: Approval of Meeting Agenda:

The current agenda was read by Mayor Poelstra.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor, and no objections were noted.

Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved to approve the consent agenda as presented.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Williams
- Approved by unanimous vote of the council

3.1 — Special Business:

• a: Election Review Committee and Certification of Election.

4

Special Business

Item A - Election Review Committee and Certification of Election:

Mayor Poelstra read back each section of Title 5:50 of the City of Edna Bay Municipal Code pertaining to the Election Certification process, and followed through each step with the Council.

There were 0 (zero) question ballots and 3 (three) Absentee ballots ballots submitted to the Review Committee; two (2) absentee ballots were not returned in time to be counted. The preliminary results submitted by the Election Judges show no write in candidates, and 15 votes each for Tyler M. Poelstra, Myla R. Poelstra and Paul Haag respectively.

Mayor Poelstra then read back the Section of the Election ordinances pertaining Absentee Ballots. The absentee ballots were reviewed and those in attendance were asked if they had any questions regarding each absentee ballot and its Oath and Affidavit Envelope content before proceeding. The following 3 ballots were approved, opened, ballot stub removed and ballot cast:

1: Doris Greif - Postmarked Sept 29th, 2021 2: Russ Bartels - Postmarked Oct 2nd, 2021 3: Charleen Bartels - Postmarked Oct 2nd, 2021

After all approved absentee ballots were cast, the ballot box was opened, each ballot removed one-by-one and the votes tallied and counted.

One ballot was filled out with both black and purple ink, however the ballot states to only use black ink. The committee agreed it was clear to see who the voter intended to vote for and it was agreed to count the ballot.

Another ballot did not check any boxes for the candidates they corresponded to, but instead checked all of the

write-in boxes and did not fill in write-in names adjacent to them. After discussion it was agreed that it cannot be determined who the voter intended to vote for in the three write-in fields. After discussion it was agreed this is a defective ballot.

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of rejecting the ballot with 3 write in checks but no write-ins filled, no objections were noted.

Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved that we reject the ballot improperly marked due to write-in boxes checked and the write in field unspecified.

- Seconded by Councilor Haag
- Approved by unanimous vote of the Council

After counting the valid absentee votes, the results were as follows:

1: Tyler M. Poelstra - 2 votes 2: Myla R. Poelstra - 2 votes 3: Paul Haaq - 2 votes

Mayor Poelstra continued to read the remaining portions of the Election Certification process from Title 5. All votes were then tallied to create the final election results. The vote totals, including those from ballots cast in-person and absentee ballots that were approved to be cast are as follows:

1: Tyler M. Poelstra - 17 votes 2: Myla R. Poelstra - 17 votes 3: Paul Haag - 17 votes

Consensus of the public attendants was taken in favor of accepting and Certifying the results of the City of Edna Bay 2021 General Election, no objections were noted.

Motion:

Mayor Poelstra moved to authorize the results of the General Election held on October 5th, 2021 to be Certified.

- Seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Poelstra
- Approved by unanimous vote of the Council

All three candidates have retained their seats and will be sworn in at the next Regular Council meeting. Tyler M. Poelstra and Myla R. Poelstra enter into a new 3-year term for seats A and B, respectively. Paul Haag enters into a new 2-year term, serving out the remaining portion of Seat F's 3-year term.

5 — Persons to Be Heard

Mayor Poelstra thanked Roger DiPaolo, Louise DiPaolo and Katie Buss for their time spent on Election Day. The election went really well.

Adjournment

Mayor Poelstra moved that the meeting be adjourned. Motion to adjourn seconded by Councilor (Mrs.) Williams. Meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM.